Vinish Garg

Technical Writer. Published Author. http://www.vhite.com

Saying Goodbye

with 5 comments

It was eleven in the evening and the marriage party was in full swing. We were in North Park, Panchkula. Almost everybody was there – some of us had planned to stay together, others had decided to leave, and rest had not thought anything. It was a coincidence that we were brought together for the last time by Seema’s marriage, Seema who was most senior in the group in terms of time we had spent while working together.

“Congratulations!” said Aarti, “Shruti told me about the book.”

“Thank you,” I replied, “I’ll send you a copy.”

“Thanks,” and both moved ahead.

Ravdeep and I were together most of the time, though within the group. The first time a waiter offered us wine, I told myself that I would not have it today. Normally I avoid it even if it is a marriage party but that evening I felt tempted. Next time he came to me, Sandeep picked one, his second. As I was thinking, he laughed away, “Is it because it is Tuesday?”

I found a valid excuse. “No kidding,” I told him.

Everybody heard our laughter but soon it died.

“Is it the last time?” I thought, and perhaps Ravdeep was also thinking the same. We glanced at each other as if we were asking each other too. In some time, I saw people dancing and I felt like dancing there.

The orchestra changed its color and the dance intensified. The music got louder and I felt as if all of us were soaked in the atmosphere. But there was less fun that day and fewer smiles were being exchanged.

All those moments that we shared when we had laughed together – inspector eagle parties, birthday and milestone bumps, lunch duties, Mathi’s maaros, Shruti’s however, Jatinder’s do mare kann te (patient energy), Sanjay’s lekin and see! (logic), Ravdeep’s daily laughs, Chander’s but why (cold logic), Geetanjali’s mirchi (lunch), Ranjana’s that’s ok, Hariharan’s boss, Suresh’s NAV, Vikas’s politeness, Seema’s timesheets and sitting in her chair with folded leg(s), and my chai.

At around twelve, it was almost the time to say goodbye. I thought I would say – Stay in touch, write to me, I’ll mail you, sms me – but the mood was different. It certainly didn’t reflect how sad we were, but the precision of sentences used couldn’t hide it either.

As I felt the party was getting over, our group began to scatter. There was not much time for saying anything, rather not much to say. I thought I would cry and I should have cried. Ravdeep said that he didn’t feel like leaving from there. Shruti and Aarti left. Followed by Suresh and Hari. Sanjay had already left.

I sensed how difficult was for some of us to say goodbye and how easy it was for others. As if it was only the state of mind. Was it? Some of us were smiling by heart, and some were pretending to be, and the rest not even pretending.

Mathi and Chander wanted to leave together with us both but we were willing to stay. We wanted to wish final goodbye to Seema but she was not there. I congratulated Anu, her sister who looked more happy than most of us. She told me that Seema would take some time to come for ‘phere’. I realized that we should leave.

I thought of Seema, who taught me what a technical writer is, who was getting married and would soon board a flight to US, don’t know why making me feel that I would never see her again.

So, I was reluctant to say goodbye. You change jobs and suddenly you start loving new friends, without wishing the love for old friends to die. I guess Ravdeep was also feeling the same, wondering that things would never be same again.

I saw different goodbyes that evening – Shruti’s was brief, Aarti’s was friendly, Sanjay’s was missing… but mine was silent, and Ravdeep’s was silent. As I walked back to the car, I felt my feet struggling to support my mind. Others had driven back leaving me behind there, struggling to say goodbye. I carried it home and felt that I should have left it there only.

Written by Vinish Garg

August 31, 2008 at 5:50 am

Posted in We, the people

Tagged with ,

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. some more to your list…… ( thanks suresh for ur input on this)

    Vinish’s HANJI……..Acha Ji, FDisk emails (minutes & schedule), Walky talky style of handling the phone with his Sony P910i.

    Partha’s long meditation (once he sleep there…)

    Sandeep’s single seater bullet, his adventure in the UPS room.

    coVeda hostel guys!

    Hariharan’s traditional dhoti.

    A secret Fart group existed in coVeda……(the members know this – Chander is not the only person)

    Mathi’s chopsticks discount – (Rajan, SCF 5, Sector 7C address will get 10% discount)

    Mathi

    May 16, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    • Hey Mathi…

      Hari might have been to office in Dhoti before I joined coveda. And chopsticks discount? I don’t know about it and I expect more eyebrows be raised from other covedians too 🙂

      vinishgrg

      May 16, 2009 at 9:28 pm

  2. Hari did that once – not many would remember. Do you know that Suresh even forgot that he sends NAV everyday. The discount……..I guess it is still active – Give it a try to Chopsticks.

    Mathi

    May 18, 2009 at 9:43 am

    • O ya I do remember Hari wore dhoti to office once… Suresh used to send NAV updates. Mathi you would make the ‘chai’ calls sometimes…though Vinish would do that more oft – “Upstairs chai, downstairs chai…guys chai..???”.
      O ya n Vinish would offer gur (jaggery) after lunch in winters!!!

      Hey Mathi what was that chor-chorni-morni story 😉

      Shruti

      May 18, 2009 at 5:28 pm

      • Yes yes.. again soaked into those coveda moments. Of a positive spirit, of comfort, of fun. Inspite of all the challenge in work. Where work was more than pleasure (unfortunately, it is not so everywhere). Where chai was more than just a cup of tea. Where timesheets were completed sometimes in excitement of somasos coming from somebody else. Where we virtually lived and breathed process. As if as a way of life…

        vinishgrg

        May 21, 2009 at 7:57 am


Leave a Reply

