Vinish Garg

Technical Writer. Published Author. http://www.vhite.com

Technical Writer and Pen/Pad?

with 2 comments

“I wish you use pencil and pad also, and not always THE KEYBOARD, at least occasionally.” I was startled at her words. “Pencil? I am a tech writer not an architect dear,” I said.

Her voice had raised, “Even when you are thinking something, you are looking at the screen, with fingers tapping (struggling on) the keyboard. With pencil and pad, sometimes you would see around, left or right at least when you are thinking.” There was no pause… “And you might have noticed that our roof is leaking, door needs paint, fan needs to be cleaned, and blah blah blah…. Can’t u even sense that you can take off your specs at least while ‘thinking’?”

She was right!. How this PC has reshaped our thought process. I have noticed that even while planning tasks or time estimates, why I am (most often) looking at the screen? I recalled that when I was writing a fiction few years back, I would spend time looking at ceiling, or walls or at lawn outside the window. Of course technology has obsessively possessed our heart, nerves, veins, brain, liver, stomach, and everything, even spiritually. I can’t live without it but thanks to my dear wife, now I use pen and pad while ‘thinking’ or ‘planning’ something. God Bless Her.

Written by Vinish Garg

June 22, 2009 at 12:19 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very true… You must compensate your wife by giving quality time to her for this wisdom… 🙂

    Rohit Sharma

    July 29, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    • Of course yes, that’s what I started and now our doors are polished, roof fixed, room is more organized.

      Now what you guess, is she quiter now? 🙂

      vinishgrg

      July 29, 2009 at 8:03 pm


Leave a Reply

