Vinish Garg

Technical Writer. Published Author. http://www.vhite.com

Moments that make Cricket the game it is…

with 3 comments

I watched the first cricket match in 1987, 22 years back. The first names that I recall hearing was Raman Lamba, Arun Lal, Kapil and Shastri. I started watching it regularly in 1991, the tri-series in Australia with infamous 126 tie-match at Perth against West-Indies. I remember it as much for Sachin’s over as for Azhar catch to leave it a tie. I felt I was obsessed with it in 1993, during Hero Cup, and I wrote the first post on this gentleman’s game in 1999. From Arun Lal to Sidhu to Sehwag, from Vengsarkar to Manjeraker to Dravid, from More to Mongia to Dhoni, and from Kapil to Srinath to current brigade… I have seen all, along with of course generations from other countries as well.

http://www.cricinfo.com is the best thing to hook a cricket enthusiast like me but more than anything else, I like the collection of photographs available on this site (Courtesy Gettyimages because of their recent alliance with cricinfo).

Written by Vinish Garg

September 8, 2009 at 11:06 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Its no surprise that you like this game of (anymore?)/for Gentlemen. Coz you are yourself a fantastic ambassador of Manhood

    Archit Garg

    September 23, 2009 at 10:15 am

    • It being anymore a gentleman’s game depends on an individual’s perspective.

      Just as some players protest on a bad decision by an umpire, others react, and few others just walk off… 🙂

      And me as ‘ambassador’? We all are vehicles… and you – ‘Lancer’? 🙂

      vinishgrg

      September 23, 2009 at 10:46 am


Leave a Reply

