Vinish Garg

Technical Writer. Published Author. http://www.vhite.com

STC Jinx?

with 2 comments

Attending STC events seems to have become a jinx for me. Being at a remote location (Yes, Chandigarh is a rural area for technical writers) doesn’t help either. Be it learning sessions in NCR, or the Great STC Annual Conference I always miss it for *some* reason. In 2007 (Goa), I was not well. In 2008 (Pune), I had an external release and could not get leave (see https://vinishgrg.wordpress.com/2008/12/15/this-too-is-writers-mental-block/ to revisit my disappointment). And this time (2009, Bangalore), again missing it. I planned extensively only that *fate* planned otherwise.

I am disappointed (read ‘annoyed’) to miss it, when I imagine India’s best technical writers gathering in Bangalore today. The documentation project plans, Arbortext Styler, editing, publishing, task analysis, customer orientation, program management, and what not. The non-stop emails (by Gururaj, Sandhya, Akash Dubey, Makarand, and other selfless contributors) on topics and benefits, awards and prizes, contests.

The carnival like feel and spirit.
The hand shakes.
The shared laugher.
And the *pride* of being part of this community.

It is the most disappointing time for me, and sometimes I feel if I will ever get to it! But then I recall Indian cricket team’s Sharjah jinx against Pakistan. The team came over it. I too hope to break this jinx.

Written by Vinish Garg

December 2, 2009 at 11:57 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Annoyance multifolds today as I read it!
    And I feel that there is no use (and fun) being a ‘Technical Writer’ if I cannot be at STC Annual Conference! Seriously! 😦 😦 😦 😦

    Vinish

    December 3, 2009 at 11:44 am

  2. har kisi ko mukammal jahan nahi milta,
    kisi ko zameen to kisi ko aasman nahi milta
    🙂
    Don’t loose your heart…
    Aur bhi gham hain zamane me ek STC Annual Conference k alawa…

    Kumar Chetan Sharma

    December 3, 2009 at 12:12 pm


Leave a Reply

